Mobile Menu - OpenMobile Menu - Closed

Rep. Napolitano Honors 2016 “Unsung Heroines” Women of the Year

May 20, 2016
Press Release

(El Monte, CA)  Today, Congresswoman Grace F. Napolitano (CA-32), honored the 2016 “Unsung Heroines,” Women of the Year for exemplary service at an awards ceremony at the Grace T. Black Auditorium in El Monte.

“It just gives me great pleasure to recognize some of the many women who are not normally recognized," Napolitano said. “You do not seek recognition and do not ask for it. Some of you never tell anybody you are doing things, you just do them. The fact is without the work you do in the community, it would be very hard for our cities, schools, churches, nonprofits, and other organizations to be able to carry out the programs they do, and we are so grateful for all your selfless acts of service.”

23 women received the award. Each woman’s name was submitted by her volunteer organization or community group that felt her contributions deserved special recognition. Napolitano gave out the awards and thanked the women personally.

“I have enjoyed very much what I do, and I like giving back to the community because I have gotten a lot of good from the community,” said Barbara Fess of the City of La Puente. “Always remember that there are other people out there who need your help and if you are able to give it, you should.”

“Joyce and I have been doing this for 73 years together friends,” said Sharon Lewis of herself and fellow honoree, Joyce Dill of Citrus College. “I think we have always been volunteers, since we were kids. We were doing things when we were in school, being involved in the government in high school, and here we are now. We just keep moving and doing more.”

The 2016 Women of the Year:


Luanne Arredondo – Mayor James Toma, City of West Covina

Werdna Beale – GFWC Covina Woman's Club

Alicia Becerril – Mayor Joe Rocha, City of Azusa

Linda Clifford – Azusa/Glendora Soroptimist

Barbara Collins – Baldwin Park Adult and Community Education

Joyce Dill – Citrus College Alumni & Friends Association

Christine Evans – American Legion Auxiliary

Barbara Fess – Councilmember Dan Holloway, City of La Puente

Monica Flores – Azusa City Library

Debbie Garcia – Mayor Pro Tem Victoria Martinez, City of El Monte

Sara Garcia – St. John the Baptist Catholic Church

Lois Gaston – Foothill Unity Center

Rexann Jasso – First United Methodist Church of La Puente

Dulce Jimenez – United Methodist Church of Baldwin Park

Jolie Johnson – American Legion

Shushan Khachatryan – California Mental Health Connection

Nita Lasserre – Councilmember Cruz Baca, City of Baldwin Park

Sharon Lewis – Citrus College Foundation

Hope Milan – Cory C. Moss, City of Industry

Shaila Salmeron – Azusa Neighborhood Homework House

Elizabeth Saucedo – Citrus College - Veterans Success Center

Darlene Walker-Coleman – Foothill Alumnae Chapter, Delta Sigma Theta Sorority, Inc.

Dorothy "Dee" Williams – Covina-Valley Unified School District

# # #