Mobile Menu - OpenMobile Menu - Closed

Route 66 National Historic Trail Designation Act Passes Committee

January 10, 2018
Press Release

(WASHINGTON, DC) Today, H.R. 801, the Route 66 National Historic Trail Designation Act, sponsored by Reps. Grace F. Napolitano (D-CA-32) and Darin LaHood (R-IL-18), unanimously passed the House Natural Resources Committee during a full committee markup.

“We are grateful for the Committee’s leadership in advancing this bipartisan legislation, which impacts eight states, millions of residents, and countless local economies, including those in our San Gabriel Valley,” Napolitano said. “Historic Trail designation of Route 66 will bring federal dollars for rehabilitation and improvement. These funds will be used in coordination with cities and stakeholders along Route 66 for the preservation of property, artifacts, memorabilia, and other historical items. Congressman LaHood and I are proud to sponsor this legislation, and we ask all of our colleagues to join us in support.”

Route 66 runs through the cities of La Verne, San Dimas, Glendora, Azusa, Duarte, and Monrovia, known in most of Napolitano’s district as Foothill Boulevard and Huntington Drive.

H.R. 801 is needed because the current Route 66 Corridor Preservation Program is expiring in 2019. The bill has been placed on the House Calendar for consideration by the full House of Representatives.

# # #