

OFFICERS

President

Cynthia Sternquist

1st Vice President Margaret Clark

2nd Vice President

Vacant

 3^{rd} Vice President

Vacant

MEMBERS

Alhambra Arcadia

Azusa

Baldwin Park Bradbury

Claremont

Covina Diamond Bar

Duarte

El Monte Glendora

Industry Irwindale

La Cañada Flintridge

La Puente La Verne Monrovia Montebello

Montebello
Monterey Park
Pasadena
Pomona

Rosemead San Dimas San Gabriel

San Marino Sierra Madre

South El Monte South Pasadena Temple City Walnut

West Covina

First District, LA County Unincorporated Communities

Fourth District, LA County Unincorporated Communities Fifth District, LA County

Unincorporated Communities

SGV Water Districts

May 22, 2017

Interior Secretary, Ryan Zinke Department of the Interior

1849 C Street, N.W. Washington DC 20240

RE: THE SAN GABRIEL MOUNTAINS NATIONAL MONUMENT (DOI-2017-0002)

Dear Secretary Zinke:

On May 18, 2017, the San Gabriel Valley Council of Governments (SGVCOG) Governing Board adopted Resolution 17-14 in support of the San Gabriel Mountains maintaining its National Monument designating as it is currently configured.

If you have any questions or require further information, please do not hesitate to contact our office at (626) 457-1800 or sgv@sgvcog.org.

Sincerely,

Philip A. Hawkey Executive Director

San Gabriel Valley Council of Governments

CC: Congresswoman Judy Chu

Congresswoman Grace Napolitano

Congressman Ed Royce

Congresswoman Linda Sanchez Congressman Adam Schiff Congresswoman Norma Torres

RESOLUTION 17-14

A RESOLUTION OF THE GOVERNING BOARD OF THE SAN GABRIEL VALLEY COUNCIL OF GOVERNMENTS ("SGVCOG") SUPPORTING THE SAN GABRIEL MOUNTAINS NATIONAL MONUMENT DESIGNATION.

WHEREAS, on October 10, 2014, 346,177 acres of existing federal lands were designated as the San Gabriel Mountains National Monument, the eighth national monument under Forest Service management,

WHEREAS, the designation gives the U.S. Forest Service greater ability to manage and protect the more than 160 rare, threatened, and endangered species and significant archeological, historical, and architectural elements,

WHEREAS, the San Gabriel Mountains has over 4 million visitors each year and provides an important outdoor recreation area for more than 17 million residents who live within a 90-minute trip of the San Gabriel Mountains,

WHEREAS, the San Gabriel Mountains is rich with cultural and historic sites. There are more than 600 archeological sites within it, including two Native American rock art sites listed on the National Register of Historic Planes, and the designation will help ensure these lands remain a benefit for all Americans,

WHEREAS, the San Gabriel Mountains Community Collaborative, a nonprofit partner of the U.S. Forest Service, represents the public by integrating diverse perspectives to identify, analyze, prioritize and advocate for values, resources, investments, management objectives and implementation practices that sustainably benefit all communities throughout the region, the Angeles National Forest and the San Gabriel Mountains National Monument, and

WHEREAS, on April 26, 2017, an Executive Order was signed that could cut the size of or abolish the San Gabriel Mountains National Monument, putting at risk its historical sites and halting safeguards of its public lands and waters.

NOW, THEREFORE BE IT RESOLVED THAT THE GOVERNING BOARD OF THE SGVCOG SUPPORTS THE SAN GABRIEL MOUNTAINS MAINTAINING ITS NATIONAL MONUMENT DESIGNATION AS IT IS CURRENTLY CONFIGURED.

PASSED, APPROVED, and ADOPTED this 18^{th} day of May, 2017.

SAN GABRIEL VALLEY COUNCIL OF GOVERNMENTS

By: Cynthia a. Sterngwat

Cynthia Sternquist, Pfesident

Attest:

I, Philip A. Hawkey, Executive Director and Secretary of the Board of Directors of the San Gabriel Valley Council of Governments, do hereby certify that Resolution 17-14 was adopted at a regular meeting of the Governing Board held on the 18th day of May, 2017, by the following roll call vote:

AYES:	Alhambra, Arcadia, Azusa, Baldwin Park, Claremont, Covina, Diamond Bar, Duarte, Glendora, La Verne, La Canada Flintridge, Montebello, Monterey Park, Monrovia, Pasadena, Pomona, Rosemead, San Dimas, Sierra Madre, South El Monte, South Pasadena, Temple City, Walnut, West Covina, LA County District 1, LA County District 5, San Gabriel Water Districts
NOES:	
ABSTAIN:	
ABSENT	Bradbury, El Monte, Industry, Irwindale, La Puente, San Marino, San
	Gabriel, LA County District 4

Philip A. Hawkey, Secretary